Postal Service

Federal Register Link

The United States Postal Service provides mail processing and delivery services to individuals and businesses within the United States. The Postal Service was created as an independent establishment of the executive branch by the Postal Reorganization Act (39 U. S. C. 101 et seq. ), approved August 12, 1970. The present United States Postal Service commenced operations on July 1, 1971. The Postal Service has approximately 705,000 career employees and handles about 212 billion pieces of mail annually. The chief executive officer of the Postal Service, the Postmaster General, is appointed by the nine Governors of the Postal Service, who are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Governors and the Postmaster General appoint the Deputy Postmaster General, and these 11 people constitute the Board of Governors. In addition to the national headquarters, there are area and district offices supervising more than 37,000 post offices, branches, stations, and community post offices throughout the United States.

How to Get in Touch