Board of Directors of the Hope for Homeowners Program

Federal Register Link

Hope for Homeowners Program along with the Board of Directors of the Hope for Homeowners Program were established under Title II, sec. 257 of the National Housing Act, as amended by the HOPE for Homeowners Act of 2008, located in Title IV of division A of the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA),(Pub. L. 110-289, 122 Stat. 2654, approved July 30, 2008). Under the National Housing Act, the Board's duties are to establish requirements and standards for the HOPE for Homeowners Program. This program is a temporary program established within the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) that offers homeowners and existing loan holders (or servicers acting on their behalf) FHA insurance on refinanced loans for distressed borrowers to support long-term sustainable homeownership by, among other things, allowing homeowners to avoid foreclosure. The HOPE for Homeowners Program is administered by HUD through FHA. The Board is composed of the Secretary of HUD, the Secretary of Treasury, the Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and the Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, or their respective designees.

How to Get in Touch