Consumer Product Safety Commission

Federal Register Link

The Consumer Product Safety Commission was established as an independent regulatory agency by the Consumer Product Safety Act (15 U. S. C. 2051 et seq. ) in 1973 and reauthorized by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008. The Commission consists of up to five members, who are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate, for 7-year terms. The Commission implements provisions of the Flammable Fabrics Act (15 U. S. C. 1191); Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 (15 U. S. C. 1471); Federal Hazardous Substances Act (15 U. S. C. 1261); act of August 2, 1956 (15 U. S. C. 1211), prohibiting the transportation of refrigerators without door safety devices; Children's Gasoline Burn Prevention Act (15 U. S. C. 2056 note); and Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act (15 U. S. C. 8001 et seq. ).

How to Get in Touch